Best practice for backing up my apps

Total newbie here, fresh out of my first class with SAB.

Any suggestions for backing up our apps created with this tool? There are quite a few pieces to the puzzle, settings in the builder for the app, the USFM files, the audio files, etc, etc. Poking into the files under C:…Documents\App Builder\Scripture Apps\App Projects[appname]\appname_data, I see a tree that looks promising, that looks like it COULD have all my “stuff”. But I don’t see anything in the resource pdfs that addresses this issue and actually says that is where it ALL is. I did see an admonition to archive the scripture and the audio files, but I didn’t find anything about archiving the app itself.

If I back up the appname_data folder tree, and I have the key I built the app with, is that ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING I need to be sure I can produce a viable update to the app from scratch?

Thanks!

Steve

In my experience, you don’t want the [appname]_data folder, but the folder above that, [appname], which includes the [appname]_data folder but also the all-important [appname].appDef file. So for archive I usually zip that main folder (the one above the .addDef file), and consider if there might be any files not included: a non-standard KeyStore, any media files, etc.

I would encourage you to test your archive out on another computer, to know for sure that you’ve got everything needed to rebuild the app.

Very helpful, thanks Jeff.

Get to your app project folder(s):

[edit]To backup ALL of your projects,[/edit] backup the parent folder (App Projects):
[edit]Otherwise, just backup your project folder.[/edit]

Also:
…\Documents\App Builder\Scripture Apps\App Projects

Dear Greg,