Customizing the Web App

So, I have been trying to learn about PWA options like including a manifest to allow the user to be prompted to install the app, and triggering setting long-lived caches for the HTML files loaded. I’m still learning about how to do those things, and perhaps they could be feature requests for SAB.

However, I want to understand also if there is a way for me to hook into to the HTML template for the PWA. For example, if I needed to load a script to do some of the above work, is there a way to for me to do that? From a quick scan, I see that we are allowed to enter some HTML into the footer. Can I add my own javascript file there as well? If I wanted to put a button for installing a PWA into a browser, it might not fit very well into the footer. Is there a way to change some kind of base template for the HTML export? Or is this all outside the scope of what can happen with SAB?

Thanks!

If your server is set up correctly for PWAs then a SAB generated PWA will ask if you want to install it on the desktop. You should not need to add any extra code.

The PWA generated by Scripture App Builder utilizes the Workbox library to add Javascript to handle the prompting and caching.

it runs workbox generateSW workbox-config.js to generate all the needed Javascript.

You are welcome to look at that configuration and look at the documentation for the library and recommend changes. We can chat about it.

That is great to hear! Can you point me to anything about requirements for server configuration? I did an export and put it on a webserver, but I don’t get get a prompt to install it as an app on desktop or mobile.

Your web server has to serve all of the PWA content via HTTPS (that is a requirement for PWA). If it is not working, you could use the Chrome Developer Tools to see if there are any requests via HTTP (or if there are any errors).

Here is an example of an PWA that is working as expected.
Malayalam Bible