HearThis, Audacity, and Scripture App Builder

I am new to HearThis and am unsure if it is the correct software for what we hope to accomplish. We want to record Scripture from a Paratext project, then be able to edit it in Audacity (to clean up the files) and eventually publish it with Scripture App Builder. If I understand correctly, HearThis can export to Scripture App builder. However, what I am unsure of is whether HearThis exported FLAC files (to maintain high quality) which are then edited in Audacity can then be brought into Scripture App builder with the correct codes for the audio and text to sync. I’ve looked for documentation but have not found any.

Faith Comes by Hearing has a standing offer to anyone using HearThis, where they will do the audio cleanup for you, add sound effects if you want them, etc. There is even an automated process by which this gets into SAB and onto the app stores. All for free.

If you really want to do it yourself, I don’t see any problems but I don’t feel qualified to address whether there are any obstacles. You may get a more thorough answer from someone after the weekend.

Audacity can open FLAC files, and export various qualities of MP3 for SAB usage. We export at 64kbps at constant rate for SAB.

HearThis will generate the SAB timing files for you if you use that export option. You could generate the timing files using HearThis and still export the audio as FLAC files and clean them up in Audacity, but if your clean up involves changing the duration of clips (e.g., to normalize the pauses), that would throw things off. In that case, you would probably need to use Aeneas (inside SAB) to generate the timing information. For most languages that use Roman script, Aeneas works very well. It can also work well for other scripts, but it depends (and it might involve more setup work).