SAB vs YouVersion

I’m a SAB newbie and when talking to people about the possibilities of creating your own Scripture Apps with SAB, I often get asked the question: why don’t you just use the YouVersion platform to get your translated scripture into an App instead of building your own Apps? Honestly, that’s a question that I asked myself and others before, but never got a satisfactory answer yet. So I’m turning to you as the experts now, looking for input on this question.

A great question, and I’m guessing you’re going to get a whole host of answers. But one of the things that I have encouraged teams to think about and invest time in is building a QUALITY App with SAB that is customized to the needs of the (often offline) community of users. There’s a spreadsheet here to get people to start thinking along those lines, but here are the categories of things that they need to consider as they build an App:

Categories
Scripture Text Content
A: How much content
B: Clickable references
B: Multilingual/multi-script
C: Red letter (words of Jesus) option
Supplementary materials
A: Glossary
B: Illustrations
C: Topical index (How to…)
D: Daily reading plan
E: Study Bible material (e.g. GM, TWR, Emmaus Course)
Multimedia
A: Audio
B: Style of audio
C: Synchronized highlighting of verses with audio
D: Video
User experience (enhanced features)
A: Menu navigation
B: Keyboard for searching and typing notes
C: Contents menu for books/sections/languages
D: Customized graphics (splash screen, drawer, icon)
E: Appropriate options available on menus
F: Appropriate adjustments to Styles to improve app
G: Appropriate changes made to underlying text
H: Appropriate information in About… box copyright, etc.
I: About box information in vernacular language (not just English)
Engagement with users
Analytics being monitored
Text editable for feedback by email
Link for further information
Contact details for follow-up (phone, email or website)
Deep Linking
App Accessibility (how it is shared)