Study Bible compatibility

Hi folks. I am new to PTX print and eager to use it for printing test versions of texts. I would really like to use it with a study Bible project I am working on with the Mozambique Bible Society. I note that Study Bible notes, sidebars etc. are not yet supported. Could this be added? It would be a huge help.

Hello, Stuart.

I noticed your post here about support for printing test versions of study Bible projects. It would be of interest to me to know your thinking about what sort of presentation would be helpful and needed for study Bible content review.

Some of what I’m aware of is that 1) quick draft printing of study Bible project could assist with evaluating the relative balance of content, and 2) could really assist with involving many more reviewers. Do you have any specific thoughts about the layout which would best facilitate needs of this sort?

Jeff

Hi Jeff.

I very much agree with points 1 and 2. I have spent inordinate amounts of time ‘fiddling’ to attempt some kind of presentation for reviewers. When it is ugly and confusing, the whole point is defeated.

I would put notes and study notes at the bottom of the page; cross-references in a margin (so they are distinct from the notes); and sidebars and illustrations on the opposite side from the cross-reference margin. To aid in distinguishing notes from Bible text, I would perhaps use single column for Scripture and double columns for notes at the bottom of the page.

Of course, part of the joy (if this could be worked out) would be presenting our review committee with multiple formats so they could agree on what they like (rather than have it be my opinion).

Stuart