Marginal Verse Settings

Hello All,

I’m new to using PTXPrint but can’t find this answer in the help, search, or forum:

Marginal Verse Bridges: Normal verse bridges are printed as 43-47 which is good. With marginal verses you get 43 47 with the second number dropped below the first and straddling the line. This can be confusing. In proofing people aren’t reading this as a bridge but thought verses were missing. Is there a way to include the dash after the first number like we have in normal verse bridges?

I found where Mark posted how to add the verse marker in the mods. Mark’s code and instructions for where to add the code was easy to follow and very helpful.

Welcome @Craig_Webb to this forum. Nice to have your question, and thanks for digging around for a solution before posting. Much appreciated!

I am by no means an expert, and the other two developers are currently away; so just based on some information tucked away in [this ‘snippets’ document], (https://github.com/sillsdev/ptx2pdf/blob/master/docs/documentation/snippets.md#avoid-two-marginal-verses-crashing-into-each-other), it appears that you should be able to turn ON the hyphen (for marginal verses) by adding this line to your ptxprint-mods.tex file:

\versehyphentrue

However, in testing that myself, it doesn’t seem to change anything. So I await further instructions from MH or DG in due course.

While we’re waiting, could you clarify whether you want the bridged verses 29-31 below to appear like (a):

29-

or (b):

|

or something else entirely?

(a) is the standard way we have handled bridges in the past using InDesign.

Thank you for helping in this!

For some reason the meaning of \versehyphentrue had been inverted. This will be fixed in the next release.

Hello Martin,

The hyphen is now working for some verse bridges but not others.

For verse bridges that skip a number it works fine. For verse bridges where a number isn’t skipped the hyphen is still missing.