Would like sample USFM format Paratext file

Hi, I am new to all this and am not a translator but attempting to build an Android app using the SIL-Scripture App Builder. If I can get all this to work, we will be using this tool for a new Bible translation for people of N. Africa. Others will do the translation, I am attempting to provide the technical support to build the Android application.

I have installed the Scripture App Builder in my Linux Ubuntu 16.04 machine and now attempting to build an app using the guide called “Building Your First App”. It is one of the vimeo videos. I am now at the screen to Add Books. Can someone tell me where I can download a sample book file in the correct format. Any translation is fine, English please. I would like to evaluate the Scripture App Builder with both text and audio eventually.

Thanks,
Ray

You can check out the “Translation for Translators” http://ebible.org/t4t/. The USFM version is available for download here: http://ebible.org/t4t/eng-t4t_usfm.zip. I’ve never used it T4T in SAB, but it is in USFM and I assume it should work.

You can also use the “World English Bible” http://ebible.org/web/. The USFM files are available for download here: https://ebible.org/Scriptures/eng-web_usfm.zip.

One advantage to use WEB is that there are recordings of the NT available also: http://ebible.org/web/mp3/ENGWEBN2DA.zip

Chris

2 Likes

Thank you very much Chris and Jeff. You provided exactly what I was looking for. I have selected sample text files from both and placed them in my Book List. I am having problems with Java and setting the JDK Location on my linux Ubuntu machine. When I get that problem fixed, I should be able to make some sample apps!

Thanks again,

Ray

This is odd that you would have to set the jdk location. It normally finds it automatically (since it install openjdk-8). I will look into that.

if you are on 64-bit system, it should be: /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.8.0-openjdk-amd64.